jump to navigation

Confessions of a People Pleaser February 22, 2009

Posted by dreamom in Uncategorized.
trackback

I was innocently trying to figure out how to get twitter set up on my phone, when I stumbled upon a blog of a friend and neighbour from the LLL.  I was in awe.  The posting ratio was more than posting once a day!  I would love to post that frequently.  Between being able to keep people posted on my life – and having something that I could look back on and be proud of, I love the idea of frequent posting…  Then I don’t, and I feel bad when I run across people that are so much better at it than I .

I know that part of my poor posting schedule is just the craziness of life.  By the time the kids are in bed, and the house is passable (although – honestly that is usually no the case), lessons planned for Sunday, and all the other trappings of life are settled, that my blogging ends up near the bottom of the todo pile.  Right after sleep I think…

The other reason is that I am … A people pleaser…  I love the conversation and connection that comes out of the comments, but I also like the idea of someone saying  – “Way to go!”, but the truth is that I have had 3 comments since I started blogging here.  I kind of feel like I am in an empty room saying “Anybody here?”.  I want people to find me interesting, thought provoking, funny, etc.  What I have to accept is that they don’t find me at all.  I continue to blog to the silence, and I continue to be rejected by way of the silence.

What is it that creates in us the need to get the attention of other people?  When did I start considering my worth somehow connected to compelling people to type?  When I say it out loud (or record it in the blog that no one reads) it seems petty and foolish, but even if I deny it – it is still there.   I feel desparatley boring and uninteresting when I can’t compell people to comment on my musings – as uninteresting as they might be…

Comments»

1. an idiot abroad - December 20, 2010

I’m confused by the strategy, the technology, the fitting-it-in around the relaxation of every thing else I have to do as Chief Cook and Bottle Washer in my organization


Leave a Reply

