jump to navigation

Beautiful Things Happen When A Woman Trusts God February 25, 2010

Posted by dreamom in Uncategorized.
trackback

After seeing a book review on my cousin’s blog where he had an ad to get books for free in exchange for doing a review. I knew I had to find out about it.  THAT is my budget for books, and I LOVE books!  I promptly visited Booksneeze.com, and sure enough there was a book listed that I was excited to read.  It was “Beautiful Things Happen When A Woman Trusts God by Sheila Walsh.  I signed up right way, danced the happy dance when the book came in the mail, and proceeded to read.

In the book she takes you through events in her own life that resulted in her trusting God, and introduced you to biblical figures who exemplify various aspects of trust in God.  I found myself relating to her story, even though the journeys are different.  At the beginning, and again at the end, Sheila talks about trust in God using the analogy of a swing, which for me, tied everything together.

I ended up liking most things about this book.  It is captivating (I spent days walking around with a book in front of face), inspiring, informative and speaks right to your soul.  I enjoyed hearing about the authors struggles, and how each of the biblical people brought her a lesson about trust, and how it played out in her faith walk.  I found it a fair easy read, as the length of time it took to read was not reflective of its readability per se – but more on that later.  I loved the way the chapters were laid out, with quotes that focused in on where she was going before each chapter.  I also liked the way she talked about the biblical people, and focused in on one aspect of their life (trust in God).  Despite growing up in a church with a huge focus on Bible knowledge, I feel like I learned something about each of these people that was new.  I also like that the questions for a bible study were in the back of the book.  It makes it concise and accessible which I really appreciated.

There were a few aspects that I didn’t like, and although few, I found some extremely annoying.  The first refers back to the readability.  Although most of the quotes from the Bible noted the ‘translation’ is was from, not all did – which may be more of an editing issue than anything.  Related to that I was also frustrated at the amount of times that the book referred to The Message.  For day to day reading The Message can help to make the Bible a little more straight forward, but when it comes down to brass tacks it is a paraphrase instead of an actual translation, and as thus is not appropriate for a reference.  This particularly bothered me with some of The Message’s more ‘new age’ terminology (Matthew referring to ‘rhythms of grace’ for instance).  Her points could have been just as easily backed up by quotes from actual translations (traditional or modern), and would have thusly, carried more weight.  My last comment is along the same lines.  Sometimes when I read a comment she had made about some of the people (such as Anna’s history) or the times, I wished she had a footnote to reference the source of the information.  It is a bit of a nit-picky academic thing, but would have raised the readability (not having to look up the references), and the creditability of the book.

Over all I say “Don’t throw the baby out with the bath water.”  There are definitely ways that it could be better, but overall is a good book, and a good lesson.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

